This one’s for the ladies

2015 has been a year of change – I graduated, moved, started my first big girl job, and got a taste of the ups and downs of adult life. Looking back over the past year, and in fact the last few years, the most positive influences have been the women in my life. I have been incredibly fortunate to be surrounded by intelligent, funny, supportive, and strong women (yes, and dudes too, but like the title states, this one’s for the ladies) in my family, friends, mentors, and teachers. But since college, I’ve begun to value and appreciate all of these women even more.

We hear all of these narratives about how women are competitive and catty and all the ways in which they try to undermine each other, but this has been so opposite from my experience. I went to grad school with 21 women (and one guy) who supported and pushed and laughed and cried me through 2 grueling years. I have been blessed with former roommates who are some of my best friends (and not just because they know the weirdest and grossest things about me). My coworkers at my new job have been amazing – they’ve made me feel welcome, gotten me through the days where I felt like wasn’t doing anything right, and have become mentors and friends.

Life in your twenties is messy and scary and confusing, but sharing the highs and lows of jobs and money and dating and big life decisions with lady friends has been what gets me through. This is for the friends who call and text and email and send cards so that being hundreds of miles apart doesn’t feel quite so far, for the friends who forgive you for not calling for too many months, for friends who get on a plane to visit you, for friendships that span a decade or two and for friendships with decades to go.

tumblr_nwc59pru251qiuiebo1_r1_1280

Female friendships: 100% guaranteed to make you feel like a queen.

So, as 2015 winds down, here’s to all the ladies who make me laugh, keep me sane, and over-inflate my ego – looking forward to 2016 adventures!

 

f117955fca483f4bc4120261f17ecb7c

 

Leave a Reply

